Farmers within a country are often protected by tariffs - that is, special taxes on imported food. Such policies are necessary, and should be implemented wherever possible. To what extent do you agree with this?

It is often argued by some people that tariffs are essential for the protection of farmers in local area. Although some people might disagree with this notion, but I completely agree. Not only because it is the source of government revenue and forces fairer competition but also because it encourages domestic production growth. This essay will explore how these factors justify my opinion. There are multiple benefits associated with tariffs. Firstly, it is considered to be a means to acquire revenue by the government. As if there are more imported products then local products would become less popular. Take an example of India, where farming is considered to be a major profession that contributes to gross domestic production of the economy. Thus, tariffs should be imposed in order to enhance revenue locally. Secondly, apart from generation of revenue, restrictions of goods in the local market encourages fairer competition which ultimately protects the rights of farmers. As imposing of tariffs on imported goods creates a level playing field for the farmers. For instance, a recent article published by Oxford University, revealed that restricting certain amount of imported in the country enhances the chances of fair competition between the countries. Hence, its essential to impose tariffs on imported products. Finally, imposing tariffs on products from other countries enhances the domestic production growth. As when revenue of the local market increases this ultimately increases the production, which in turn benefits the farmers. To sum up, I believe that its essential to impose tariffs on imported products not only to generate revenue and provide a fair competition but also to support domestic production growth.