Countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The balance between working intensity and working efficiency has always been a hot topic prevailing in discussion about economic success. From my perspective, those countries emphasizing long working hours tilt towards economic failure and sluggish development. In the first place, national welfare can be impacted by extended working time. The overwhelming work load can force people to spare less time to conduct healthy activities, such as sports and exercise, which may give rise to various health problems, leading to added medical burden on the individuals and the government. Consequently, countries with shorter working time can enjoy higher financial flexibility which lead to better warfare than those with longer working time, allocating large part of financial resources to tackle national health issues. Undoubtedly, countries with intense workload can achieve a greater amount of aggregate production which could result in short-term economic prosperousness. However, as far as company’s concern, long working time can bring low productivity resulted from additional working hours which may not truly lead to extra outcome. Besides, high working intensity can refrain employees from innovations and technical improvement, which are the essential factors determining the quality and quantity of the products and services supplied by the firms. Eventually, in the long run, nations focusing on increasing workload tend to witness a slow-moving economic development attributed to poor technical breakthrough in the productivity improvement. To sum up, I reiterate the position that countries with longer working hours are not economically prosperous than countries focusing on shorter working intensity. This is mainly because longer working hours can foresee an impaired social welfare and stagnant economic development caused by additional medical burden and inhibited efficiency progress than shorter working time..