Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, alternative treatments are highly trendy. Many citizens are now relying on these procedures and products. This essay will discuss the disadvantages of this situation while giving examples of possible health problems and public-related issues. It is a fact that these different treatments cause health problems. Firstly, unresearched drugs and foods lead to new diseases in a person. Secondly, because they are ineffective, one’s current health conditions become worse. For example, some types of mushrooms are treated as miracles nowadays, but consuming the wrong one can cause liver failure, and also not taking their medication in this process makes those individuals even sicker. Moreover, relying on treatments like acupuncture has a negative impact on society. They are nothing but a waste of money. Also, there are some people who make false accusations against doctors. For instance, one can see advertisements on their TV about alternative medicines, and they may spend high amounts of money on those products while learning false information, such as a rumour that most doctors prescribe unnecessary medication. In conclusion, it seems that there is an overgrowing population who trust other treatments than doctors give. In my opinion, this wrong behaviour leads to an increase in different diseases, and affects communities by creating misunderstandings.