Nowadays parents are sending their children to trips abroad for educational purpose. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Of recent, parents now follow the trend of making their children study abroad. Of course, these activities do have their advantages such as giving them exposure alongside a well-recognized degree, however, poor connection with their root and long distance from home amongst many others could be some shortcomings. This essay will further elaborate on these two views. On one hand, there could be a few benefits from an academic adventure abroad for many reasons. An important one is that some believe that travelling internationally to study gives more exposure to students. Meaning that they have more opportunities to explore a variety of modernized environments unlike staying back in their home country. An important example is African students that go to Europe for a university degree. As a result of this, they are able to experience a more developed and fascinating environment. In addition, studying abroad, especially, at top universities gives a well-recognized degree to students. For instance, Havard University graduates have been found to be more globally recognized compared to others. Hence, they are not only able to secure better jobs but actively compete in society. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks to this view. One, students that study away from their home country tend to lack cultural value. In the sense that, they know little or nothing about their country in relation to their course of study. For example, studying medicine in the USA is different from studying in Nigeria because, the two countries have separate peculiarities of disease conditions that are common to each of them. Therefore, being a doctor in the United State doesn't outrightly make one start practising in Nigeria. secondly, some students lack family bonding because of the long distance away from home. They miss home and are only able to relate with their parents and siblings on face time or on social media. Consequently, they are physiologically unstable which may result in them having poor grades. In summary, as outlined in the paragraphs above, there are two sides to the current practice of parents sending their children abroad for studies. While the benefits are glaring, the side effects cannot be underplayed. I think the option of international studies should be based on individual needs and benefits.