Some people think that newspapers are the best way to get news. However, others believe that they can get news better through another media. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

The 21st century witnessed an information explosion through the internet boom. Some assert that newspapers are the priority to attain current affairs due to their credibility while the opposites argue that other media like social forums are more convenient. In my perspective, the advantages of online platforms outweigh the traditional ones. On the one hand, the official newspaper represents reliability when getting acquainted with recent news. Journalists need to obtain a license for news reports and therefore, in some mediums, for example, The Standard and BBC journalists require to ensure the trustworthiness of the details. Additionally, investigative journalism by the valued agency also reveals the unbelievable darkness of some industries and even government departments, in particular, PRISM, in which Snowden uncovered the privacy intrusion of the FBI a decade before. As a result, the press could reveal the trust that is related to the citizens while acting as a monitor to the government and other businesses. On the other hand, the recent press censorship raises civilians’ doubt about its reliability and leads to the growth of social platforms. There is little doubt that some articles contain an obvious stand to illustrate a part of the story which favours a fraction of stakeholders. For instance, South China Morning Post and WenWeiPo, as the official government channel, would merely announce the facts which put the authority in a strong position. A case in point is Hong Kong and Taiwan, the citizens are more likely to obtain knowledge in terms of politics, economy, and international society through social channels, such as Youtube, Instagram and Facebook. Consequently, surfing the internet could provide a diversity of points of view and analysis on current affairs for preventing superficial reports. To conclude, despite the contribution made by journalism before, the censorship and the monopoly of information by the media tycoon reduce the credibility of publishing. Eventually, cyberspace becomes a vital medium for publicizing and understanding the truth.