Nowasays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life What are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In modern society, there has been an ongoing trend towards bearing children later in life. From my perspective, this development is caused by myriad factors and I strongly believe that the enormous benefits brought by late childbirth outweigh its demerits. There are two major reasons as to why some endorse delaying parenthood. First and foremost, as people are investing more time in their careers, having infants can be a major distraction. This is especially true for some professions, whose peculiarities make having children not physically viable. For example, flight attendants are required to travel so frequently that they can ill afford to both their work and rear their babies. Work commitments aside, the ballooning childcare costs would put a burden on young couples, leading to constant stress and depression. I opine that the advantageous effects of this issue infinitely overshadow its drawbacks. The latent risks of health problems, even death, suffered by both the mother and babies due to late childbirth can be mitigated by recent leaps in the medical field. In addition, as people have more time to establish their career and financial stability, they can give their children a better life including high-quality education, better health care services. Another merit is that the older people are, the more life experience they gain. Such hands-on experience may give them greater skills in raising a well-rounded child, while bad parenting skills, which tend to be prevalent among young couples, could have an adverse bearing on the children. In conclusion, the pursuit of a career and escalating childcare costs are two driving factors behind postponed parenthood. I believe that the merits of this trend are weightier than its demerits.