Some people think it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while others think that taking part in individual sports is better, like tennis and swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an opinion stating that playing team sports such as football, volleyball and rugby are more advantageous than playing individual ones, for example: swimming, boxing and skiing. I disagree with this idea because each kind of sport has its own pros and cons and people have rights to choose the one that is most suitable for themselves. In my view, there are a lot of strong points of team sports. Firstly, these kinds of sports require the players to have teamwork skills such as communication, time management and leadership. For example, in 2014, Germany won the FIFA World Cup over Argentina because they have more outstanding teamwork skills, while Argentina only counted on their famous star - Lionel Messi to score the goal. Additionally, being a member of a group helps an individual make friends and learn from his colleagues, which significantly consolidates social bonds. Expanding the social circle improves a person’s sense of belonging and confidence, preventing a risk of poor health conditions such as heart diseases, stress, anxiety, and depression. On the other hand, choosing individual sports like skateboarding, biking and tennis over ones requiring to play in a team are absolutely reasonable for introverted people. Some popular sports such as wrestling, gymnastics and running enable children to keep fit and develop motor skills. Moreover, because these kinds of sports are played individually, participants have opportunities to reinforce independent judgment and learn self discipline. However, the absence of colleagues may trigger some drawbacks such as: emotional isolation, lack of competition and selfishness. To sum up, I believe both team sports and individual ones have strengths and weaknesses. People can decide their sport based on their personal preferences and special abilities.