Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

It is widely considered that the most fundamental necessity for people is good health, and some people argue that medical services should not be operated by profit-making organisations. From my perspective, private health care has more advantages than disadvantages.

One of the most significant benefits of private health care is that they provide higher quality services and efficiency. Since private health clinics compete with each other to attract patients, they evolve their service, hire professional doctors and invest in modern technology. Additionally, unlike public hospitals, private clinics operate faster, and there is no long waiting queue. For example, in public hospitals, people should wait two or three days to obtain an appointment; however, in private clinics, people can reserve places by calling the administration in a few minutes. Therefore, private clinics have a better impression on society than public clinics.

Nevertheless, private clinics has its own drawbacks. The main concern is that higher quality treatment can only depend on the financial status of the public. A wealthy community can only afford higher-quality treatment from professionals because every procedure and appointment costs a huge amount of money. However, people with poor remuneration cannot afford better treatment, which can lead to social stratification. For instance, since rich people only visit private clinics, there is a belief that public hospitals are only for the poor. As a result, it leads to social discrimination.

In conclusion, although private clinics are expensive and not everyone can access them, in my opinion its benefits outweigh the drawbacks as they provide higher quality service and analysis. As a result, private health care organisations will always be preferred by the community.