In the future, it is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people in some countries. Is this positive or negative development?

The 21st century witnessed an increasing number of humankind in the world. Some predictions about a higher percentage of elderly would take place in some places. In my perspective, the repercussions of labour and cost on health outweigh the positive side of this trend. The ageing population problem may lead to insufficiency of the labour force, in particular, the building industry and service industry. Some ageing problems like presbyopia and lack of physical strength are the main factors of the indispensability of youngsters in the community. Teenagers are the major executives and customers to stimulate the development of a country in terms of economy, technology, and culture. The lack of young contributes to the economic recession due to less consumption and executives. With less financial stimulation, some governments, for example, Vietnam, would transfer the financial burden to the civilians as tax. As a result, it is for economic security not restricted to nations, but evidently to individuals that countries’ demographics should be balanced. On top of that, the physical illness of the old requires a considerable amount of spending on health care. Senior citizens contain a higher possibility of suffering serious diseases, such as heart disease, dementia, and degeneration of body function, which demand higher expenses on nursing and treatment. In Spain and Italy, in particular, the dead population is more fierce than in other countries under epidemic due to the proportion of the greying population. Consequently, without a corresponding revenue from the young generation, the outlay on the elderly may not be recoverable. However, some argue that the intelligence and experiences of seniors are the treasure of industries and even countries. For instance, when some emergencies happen in businesses, the experience of similar situations is more effective than the theories taught in schools and ambition. But history is the priority of encouraging nourishment in terms of the teens' thinking and understanding, but not in future national development. To conclude, although the ability of experienced dwellers is crucial, the projected upward trend of ageing residents would result in scarcity of labour and economic degradation, which is an adverse development for the community at large.