New technologies and ways of buying and selling goods are transforming the lives of consumers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Technological advancement has made buying and selling items easier than ever, and people are enjoying this novel experience. In my opinion, the online marketplace is one of the most innovative discoveries of our time, which has been very beneficial to people, as they can shop from their homes but it is killing local businesses and making people lazy. Since the launch of online marketplace, its popularity is constantly increasing. In the earlier days, people used to go out for shopping but nowadays you can directly order from websites. Therefore, everybody can buy or sell on their electronic devices, such as laptops, phones and tablet computers. Moreover, as there is no middleman or retailer, consumers benefit from getting bigger discounts. For example, we can go to Amazon's website, who is the biggest online retailer and get anything we want, such as a microwave, clothes and a phone, cheaper than the local store. So, I would agree that, doing trade online is extremely beneficial to consumers. On the other hand, as people are trading online, it is affecting local businesses. Due to online shopping, local shops are getting less business, which is affecting their livelihood. Moreover, during the coronavirus pandemic, a lot of local businesses shut down due to no income. Furthermore, new ways of trading are affecting people's health, as they are not going out of the house anymore. Due to that, their health is deteriorating. For instance, people used to go out and walk if they wanted to buy or sell anything, but nowadays there are not moving from their houses to shop, which is affecting their health. In conclusion, although new ways of buying or selling has some negative effects on local businesses as well as on the health of the people, it has made doing business more convenient, and shopping is now at our fingertips.