An average British child watches television for more than 20 hours in a week and indulge in 7 hours of physical activity. What is the situation in your country and what are the causes of it? What are the solution to overcome the same?

Watching television is a popular way of entertainment for people to choose from during their leisure time. In recent years, younger generations, particularly those born in the 2010s spent a considerable amount of time on this, while far less time is devoted to physical activities such as sports. In this essay, I will explain the reasons that lead to this situation, and more importantly, some possible approaches to overcome it. To begin with, in my country China, an average child spends about 3 hours a day on TV, which is equivalent to 21 hours per week. What are the possible factors that cause this? First and foremost, parents are facing bigger working pressures now compared to the past, which is a direct consequence of today's fast pace society. As a result, they have limited time and effort to spend with family, and because of that, kids have to take care of themselves and the simplest way to kill time is by watching TV. Secondly, there is a growing number of great shows and comedies that attract not only children but also adults. This makes kids get more appealed to televisions, as their mentality is not that strong to let them get away from those interesting stuff. Last but not least, currently learning politics is mandatory in primary and high schools, and the easiest way for students to get access to political news is through TV broadcasts. These are the three main points that cause the situation of devoting too much time to watching television. To be honest, this issue cannot be completely resolved, as watching television has already become a non-separable part of our lives. Nevertheless, we can find some methods to overcome it. Firstly, although most parents are extremely busy at work, they should still try to have more time with their children. Parents are role models for their kids and should help them to manage their time properly. For instance, we might encourage kids to get into household chores more frequently, so that on one hand the family gets tighter, and on the other hand, more physical activities are engaged. Another possible solution is to motivate children to develop a new hobby, preferably sports such as baseball, soccer, basketball, etc. This not only helps our children get fit but also makes them communicate more with others. To conclude, it is not feasible to completely remove TVs from children's daily routines. Nevertheless, with proper guidance and management, it is still quite possible to let kids have a much more balanced lifestyle.