Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

It is a true fact that crimes are increasing day by day. The most significant reasons for climbing the crime rate are poverty and lack of the knowledge of consequences of actions. This essay will elucidate the causes behind this phenomenon and manoeuvres in order to prevent further criminal activities. To embark on, prevention of offence is the initial step to reducing the crime rate rather than putting the criminal in jail. Firstly, we need to think about why criminals do robbing and steal from others.Poverty is the main cause and due to it, people start to think about various criminal activities which are easier to get money, so that they can feed their family and support them for other basic needs. For instance, recent research conducted by the Times of India shows that a large number of criminals belong to slum areas. Therefore, the government should take enough steps to raise the standards of people so that they can earn well. Moreover, lack of education is also one of the major factors. Many youngsters are not aware of the results of any criminal activity, sometimes, they get involved under the influence of peer pressure. In addition to this, media also plays a vital role in enhancing several types of anti-social tasks. Adolescents get easily attracted to what they saw on Television. Despite, considering the diverse angles of this phenomenon, we can combat these issues by decreasing unemployment and providing proper schooling to adults. One of the possible solutions to this is the government should develop a better social welfare system to identify low-income families and give support to them such as providing monthly allowance and health care benefits. Furthermore, parents and teachers should provide proper guidance to children about the harmful consequences of crimes. For example, if children know the results of any activity, they will definitely think thousand times before performing it. Also, there should be proper media sensors so that violent songs and movies can be stopped. To conclude, poverty, lack of education and media play a big role in enhancing unlawful acts. Therefore, government bodies should emphasize public education, and social welfare programs and reinforce criminal laws.