Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify two serious ones and suggest ways to resolve these problems.

It is said that the world population soared spectacularly, especially in the urban districts which lead to enormous troubles. In this essay, I will discuss two major problems as well as the possible solutions to mitigate the issue. It is undeniable that air pollution and global warming are the two significant challenges of overpopulation. First and foremost, the number of vehicles skyrocketed and causes worse air quality. As the number of individuals who live in urban areas climbed gradually and they use private transportation to travel to work or to school, and thus turn out private cars are demanding. It is clear that using excessive vehicles will emit countless greenhouse gases, such as suspended particles, which will then contaminate the surrounding atmosphere. Consequently, the quality will thereby worsen and lower visibility. For instance, in Hong Kong, we can notice from the weather podcast that the air quality level always stabilized at an extremely high level, which represents that the surrounding atmosphere is bad. It reveals that the massive population do create severe air pollution in the community. In addition, several human activities, like ginormous solid wastes will lead to global warming. As we all know, with a huge population, the public tends to do different activities that might harm the environment, such as using much disposable cutlery. These events do create an adverse effect on the environment as the greenhouse effect emerged. Subsequently, the global temperature rises and brings about a serious global warming situation. Nevertheless, there are some solutions that can diminish the obstacles of overpopulation. First of all, the government should take up the leadership role and impose certain policies in terms of different human activities, for example, imposing a tax on the use of plastic bags. This can create an economic incentive for the community to reduce these actions. Take Hong Kong as an example, the imposition of charges on plastic shopping bags, and the consumption halved at the end of the year. It depicts that people lower their incentive to use disposable bags thanks to the extra cost. Moreover, the authority can also organize some campaigns, for instance, talks in all schools in an attempt to raise the public's awareness and tried to reduce harmful events. In a nutshell, overpopulation does create exclusive hurdles which highlighted that air pollution and global warming are the most serious, by contrast, the public council can apply both soft and hard measures so as to diminish this matter.