In some countries, older people are choosing to live in retirement communities with other older people rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, instead of elderly persons residing together with their children, they decide to live with their peers in the retirement homes alternatively. In my opinion, this is a productive outcome. Firstly, many retirement communities handle basic home maintenance issues. Therefore, if one needs someone to repair the stove, unclog a drain, or redo the roof, it is covered. This can save them from frustration for having to deal with these things by themselves when they are left alone as mostly, their children are out of the house to work. It also means their budget will not take an unexpected hit because their furnace suddenly quit. Secondly, the situation is somewhat different if a parent has dementia or is nearing death. Cases like this pose unique challenges of their own. For example, a parent with Alzheimer's disease cannot be expected to reason with you when it comes down to respecting house rules and participating in chores and other household duties. If a loved one is facing the end of life, then it is very likely that this living arrangement will be temporary yet very emotionally intense. Thus, a retirement community would be more appropriate than in their own homes. Lastly, amongst the most obvious benefits of skilled nursing facilities is the personalized health care services offered to residents. These services typically include regular administration of daily prescriptions, medical attention when needed, emergency medical services, and 24-hour health monitoring services. Having on-site medical care available from registered nurses and health care providers is crucial to a senior's safety and well-being. In conclusion, I suppose this is indeed a progressive trend as it not only alleviates the stress of household care but also ensures healthier family relationship as well as care.