In some parts of the world, people buy far too many clothes. What are the reasons for this? How can people be persuaded to reduce the number of clothes they buy?

In recent years, the number of clothes sales has increased in some countries. This behaviour is mainly developed for two reasons. However, individuals should be encouraged to reduce this consumption as it can lead to serious issues. One of the major reasons why people purchase a significant number of clothes is simply because of their personal interest. Due to the influence of social media, most of the people are convinced that they should buy more new clothes and share their profiles on Instagram and TikTok. This provides them with personal satisfaction and happiness when they have a wide collection of dresses. Marketing and seasonal sales are also key factors that promote different brands of clothes. These strategies of companies hugely attract people's attention and force them to buy without any requirement. People often find it beneficial and economical when they purchase clothes at high discounts. There are several ways to reduce this trend; however, if people are made aware of the process of manufacturing and the importance of recycling, the reduction in repeated buying of clothes can be seen. Since clothes are manufactured from plants and animals, they are an important part of the ecosystem. When people understand and are aware of these integral aspects, they will learn to reuse old clothes instead of buying more. In conclusion, it is normal in some countries that people purchase clothes in large numbers. However, this practice should be reduced by educating people that it is beneficial to repeat and reuse clothes, as they can save essential resources and precious money, which can be used for other purposes.