Write about the following topic. The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With globalization, a plethora of people have started to move from one place to another which causes a significant amount of traffic on roads, especially in cities because it is the main hub where every amenities are located and people travel regularly. So, to reduce the traffic jam issue some people believe that reducing the daily needs of people travelling to work will be a prominent solution. I partially agree with the aforementioned viewpoint because there are other solutions to be considered and the following essay will elaborate further with examples. To begin with, it is true that if people reduce their travelling hours from home to work, study, etc, there will be less traffic congestion in cities. Thus, the majority of individuals can work from home, study from home and do online shopping since technology is developed nowadays. As an example, in almost every part of the world, students and teachers are using online teaching materials such as zoom for education which is helpful to reduce rush hours during peak times in the cities. However, not every person can turndown their workload because there are some important professionals such as doctors, nurses, and childcare educators who have to travel to work daily or multiple times a day. On the other hand, the government has its own responsibilities to build up new road systems, and flyovers and broaden the roads to provide more space for vehicles to move without any congestion. As the cities are developing eventually people tend to travel more to metropolitan areas for their needs and this cannot be stopped or eliminated. Thus, road development authorities providing alternative solutions is the best option. To exemplify, broadening the highways and freeways means adding new lanes in the road, even if an accident happens in one lane people do not need to be stuck there for long hours, they can move to another lane a drive. So, enhancing road systems to the existing ones will be an effective and efficient method to minimise the traffic issue. To conclude, I partially agree that working from home or reducing the needs of people will solve the traffic jam issue in cities but if the authorities develop more road systems in cities people will be able to do their work without any hesitation and roads will be free of traffic.