Fewer students are studying science at school and university, favouring more computer-based subjects instead. Is this a positive or negative development? What are the reasons for this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In this day and age, with the evolution of technology, more and more pupils are choosing data-based subjects rather than learning science for the academy. From my point of view, this is absolutely a positive development for the young to approach the new technology of the future when telecommunications are involved in our life every day. One obvious reason for this trend is that many jobs require high automation to operate. If more and more students are equipped with up-to-date computer skills, the quality of futu workforce will improve significantly for those jobs. For example, manual workers will soon be replaced by robots in the future so only those who have the ability to operate robots are hired. Furthermore, our lives are becoming digitized and automated so the young generation needs to be tech-savvy. People use Facebook, Instagram and other social platforms as a way of communication and lots of high-tech companies do automatic products like cars, televisions and so on. This makes mechanization necessary for students, it gives them a higher chance to be relevant to the modern world. As a result, many students prefer to study technology courses. To sum up, studying computer-based subjects helps pupils adapt to the modern world as telecommunications are a part of daily life.