Many people argue that eating junk food has led to an unhealthy lifestyle. This problem has become more common among young people these days. Do you agree or disagree that junk food is the cause of the issue?

There are many people who think that the main cause of unhealthy lifestyle is people ’s tendency to consume fast food, especially young people. Although junk food is partly responsible for this problem, in my opinion there are some other reasons which are leading to unhealthy way of life. I admit that fast food is considered to be one of the main causes of leading unhealthy lifestyle. It consists of excessive fats and calories which are difficult to digest and harmful for organism. Also, it is served with fizzy drinks containing excessive amounts of sugar which can lead to weight gain. People will not get enough nutrients that an average body requires when they replace healthy food such as home-made soups and salads with fast food. Because home-prepared meals tend to be rich in vitamins necessary for the body, and not getting enough may be damaging to the body. In my view, however, there are some other important reasons for unhealthy lifestyle. One of them is less exercise. Due to the advancements in technology people move less than they did in the past: cars have replaced walking, machines do the laundry for people, lifts carry them as they feel too busy to take stairs, etc. These changes have led to sedentary lifestyle which has become a very common problem today. Moreover, people are getting insufficient sleep. They are overloading themselves with tasks to make their day more productive, but it is having adverse effects on people ’s health. The harms of sleep deprivation are much serious than they are considered to be. In conclusion, even though fast food is one of the causes of inappropriate lifestyle, I believe that there are two more serious reasons such as sleep deprivation and lack of exercise.