Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

A school of thought holds that an increase in gasoline prices is the solution to the increasingly urgent traffic and environmental issues. From my perspective, although this seems to be a good measure, there are other equally effective ways that are worth considering. It is undeniable that increasing fuel costs will encourage people to use public transport and contribute to the reduction in the number of private vehicles as well as the amount of greenhouse gas emissions. Hence, this will help alleviate traffic and pollution problems to some extent. However, it is necessary to bear in mind that those in power cannot keep raising fuel prices constantly because it may lead to a surge in transport costs and make commodities and people’s living costs more expensive. As a result, citizens’ consumption will decline and the economy will be adversely affected. As regards other solutions, there are several viable suggestions that should be taken into consideration. First, the government should invest more in traffic infrastructures such as building and upgrading overpasses and underground systems to help remedy traffic congestion, especially in large metropolises. Moreover, vehicles that use environmentally friendly energy like electric or solar energy should be promoted, for example, the government can reduce tariffs and road taxes on them to make them more accessible to the public. This will, in turn, lessen greenhouse gas emissions and improve air quality. In conclusion, apart from increasing the price of gasoline, it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be put into practice to solve the increasingly pressing traffic and pollution problems.