To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Population grows nowadays which leads to overpopulation and causes a fundamental problem which is insufficient food resources. In order to fulfil this requirement, edible insects are being promoted. Some people think that is not suitable to consume and may do harm to nature. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, intaking insects give a good diet. According to scientific research, insects contained high resources of protein which the human body required. For instance, a supplement company had labelled that their product ingredients contained insects to achieve the protein level. Moreover, edible insects solve the problem of poverty as high-protein meal increases satiety which requires adequate portions. As the result, insects could be promoted in the daily diet as it is rich in protein-based. On the other hand, over-consuming insects could break the food chain and cause an imbalance which leads to the destruction of nature. Animals that eat insects as a living will decrease their food source if human becomes a competitive factor. To illustrate this point, frogs hibernate during the winter, and before this, they have to prepare sufficient food for themselves. Unfortunately, their prey is being hunted by humans which causes them insufficient preparation and leads them to danger. So, over-intaking insects do bring negative effects on nature. In conclusion, although intaking insects provide a food source and manage the shortage, over-consuming it may endanger other animal species as their number of prey decrease due to human hunting. Nevertheless, it should be done under the circumstances that neither side would face negative affect.