Some people believe that teaching children at home is best for a child’s development while others think that it is important for children to go to school. Discuss the advantages of both methods and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The argument over whether learning at home or school is better for children has yet to be settled. Whereas home education offers better protection with individual learning and opportunities for families to bond, schools have a superior range of material and human resources. Ultimately, the school experience is best for children. There are several advantages for children who learn at home. Firstly, they can spend more time with their parents and siblings. Many social problems are associated with families not spending enough quality time together. Teaching children at home also provides them with an individualised learning environment. Instruction is custom-designed, moves at the child’s own pace, and follows their learning style. Finally, homeschooling protects children from bullies and others who might be bad influences. On the other hand, the school environment also offers advantages for children. For example, schools encourage children to socialise with their peers and learn how to cope with gossip, bullying and peer pressure. In addition, children will receive better tuition across a range of disciplines, as schools have trained teachers in particular subjects. Moreover, schools provide better access to physical resources such as sports equipment, musical instruments and library books. Children are better off in a school environment. Although family time and individual learning are essential, the range of expertise and resources that schools offer cannot be matched in the home. School environments may present difficult social situations, but so too does the real world, and children must learn to navigate these on their own.