Zoos are inhumane and pointless. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Zoos have been introduced to feed and exhibit captive animals for decades. However, recently more questions about the quality of care provided to animals as well as the values of zoos have been brought up. It is agreed that zoos are cruel and pointless and should be completely phased out. Analysing the discomfort that animals suffer and the loss of animal nature will prove this. To begin with, although zoos have been greatly improved over the years, animals in captivity still suffer for various reasons. Firstly, spaces in zoos are quite often limited, resulting in enclosures being small. Apart from that, the city's climate may not be suitable. For instance, tropical animals such as pythons and lizards are seen in quite a few zoos in China, while the country is not even close to the equator. Therefore, these discomforts show that the quality of care provided by zoos is not guaranteed. Next, admittedly zoos play an important role in protecting and preserving endangered species. Still, taking into account animal nature, this effort is essentially useless. Animals in captivity no longer have wildness and their original habitats. For example, many carnivores such as lions, tigers and leopards that are bred carefully have lost their instinct to hunt and could possibly be afraid of other species. Thus it becomes apparent that the captive population can hardly be re-introduced into the wild. To conclude, zoos do not have desired conditions to provide animals with comfort, as well as preserve their natural instincts. Therefore, it is clear that these facilities are inhumane and pointless. In my mind, more efforts should be devoted to protecting wilderness areas and this will ultimately be the best approach to save the species.