In a number of countries, some people thik that it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these view points and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is almost impossible to avoid trips between cities regarding work or private life. In such a case it is important to have a convenient and easily accessible inter-city network for the comfort of the public. There are countries that believe it is important to invest large sums of money in constructing new railway lines for a faster and easier commute. While, on the other hand, some stand in their point of view that the government should use this amount on improving the existing public transport. In this essay, I shall discuss both these viewpoints and give my opinion regarding the same. To begin with, public transports surely exist to make the public's life easier and more convenient. It is not only economic at a personal level to use public transportation but also benefits the country by minimizing the carbon footprints at a societal level. Also since public transit is cheaper and easily accessible a huge number of people depend on it for their daily commute to work and back home. However, it is also important to notice that the services provided by this department are already the best available. Such as, buses being installed with heaters or air conditioners, along with wifi operated tap system where one just needs to tap their bus cards to pay the fare for the ride and so on. Local metro stations running in the city have 5th generation of wireless fidelity installed with open networks for the locals to use. On the contrary, for the railway, the system there still are some cities that are not accessible easily and travellers have to spend hours on buses to reach their destinations from one city to another. This can be solved by investing more in constructing a better network system between towns. For example, a country like India, which has the largest existing rail network in the world, faces connectivity problems between towns as the tracks are really old and were not planned for modern times. Such as could be taking equally longer hours to travel from city A to B by bus, or the unavailability of direct trains, the passengers need to transfer lines to travel distances wasting a lot of time on this. Therefore, in my opinion, rather than spending huge sums of money on aiding the already existing public transportation with extravagant amenities like wireless fidelity or unnecessary food outlets at the stations the authorities should spend the same amount on railway lines providing better connectivity between cities.