Government investment in the arts, such as music and theater, is a waste of money, government must investment this money in public services. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

All contemporary governments have a wide range of needs from their population to cover with their annual incomes. Economically, this means wasting money in certain items, which can be publicly defined as "strategic" at some point. In my opinion, investing in arts, such as music and theater is not a waste of money in terms of government investment. Arts and music can really alliviate people's bad emotions or solitude in globalyzed societies. It has been scientifically proved how music positively impacts our mental health. For example, during the pandemic, it was very clear that a lot of people invested in subscribing to certain media like Netflix or Disney Plus, in order to stay calm and have funnier activities to do, due to quarrantines quarantine. Even in normal times, art and music can be crucial in terms of democracy, because it helps to keep open the main debate on central aspects of every particular nation. However, there are some people that thinks that investing in these kind of matters can be a total waste of money, specially during hard times or national crisis. This is indeed reasonable, if we look at the public services and how them tend to be very affected from these kind of scenarios. Along with that, the main national budget is variable and has a lot of things to cover. Every government needs to have a sense of priorities in terms of its economic performance. Nevertheless, arts and music can relieve people's distress, even more in the midst of these crisis moments, so I think that investing in them could be something good even for workers of the public services. In conclusion, I would like to say that spending more money in promoting Arts and Music can have a very positive impact on the population, so I'm convince that it is a good policy that governments keep investing in that.