Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Olympic games have been a great part of the sports culture around the world. The games started in Athens with an effort of bringing the countries together and celebrate sport in a spectacular way. Although some people think this kind of international event is important, there are others who feel it is a waste of money. Therefore, we will discuss both the views in following paragraphs and I would share my personal viewpoint on the same. Firstly, let's discuss the positives of such extravaganza across the globe. For instance, the Olympic games which are held over a gap of four years in every leap year command massive participation from almost all 190 nations in the world. Furthermore, it brings a sense of unity through healthy competition in sports like athletics, gymnastics and others. Additionally, the host nation is given a chance to show its hospitality to the whole community. Hence, some people believe these occasions are very essential. Alternatively, there are folks who consider them of less importance and the destruction of money. For example, the FIFA world cup 2022 being held in Qatar has a total expenditure on infrastructure to be around 220 billion dollars and the incoming revenue expected is just 17 billion dollars. In addition to the costs, the impact of conducting a huge tournament on the environment is drastic. Moreover, people are of the opinion that it's a waste of resources which could have been utilized elsewhere for the betterment of society. I would like to conclude by saying that I don't completely disagree with the statement that these international events are a waste of money instead, there is a need to find a more sustainable way to have them. Thus, it would keep the spirit of sports alive and help to maintain harmony on the planet.