Some people say that the government should stop TV and Newspaper from showing crimes because media coverage of violent crimes is frightening people and encouraging criminals. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In the present day, with the development of technology, we have been offered several means like TV, the internet, magazine and newspaper to update us about information worldwide. And having broadcasted the breach scenes is a controversial topic as the violence can be frightening to viewers or promoting people to commit crimes. I'm inclined to agree with the mentioned opinion as there is another perspective. I will discuss both opinions in the essay with suitable examples. On the first hand, human psychology is vulnerable to the brutality shown in programs. To begin with, violence often frightens the viewers and affects their peace of mind. For example, the elderly feel depressed and scared after watching an episode of a story containing murder and robbery. In addition, If the criminal have read the detailed description from the newspaper, they would have known the idea to execute a crime by the local authorities. Therefore, the government should impose a restriction to broadcast such brutal acts. On the other hand, some people believe that a clear, informative message is delivered to the young generation through these criminal reports. The horrifying consequences of wrongdoings remind them of not being involved in any offence such as drug abuse, or alcohol abuse. Moreover, many cases broadcasted on TV have been explained in crime coverage, which allows viewers to know more about the criminal. Through this, they can protect themselves as well as their beloved ones. In conclusion, the violence presented through any mass media has both positive and negative influences on society. From my point of view, the prohibition on such media coverage does not serve the purpose, though some filters can be applied to make it more effective for people absorbing the information.