Some people believe that in order to reduce crime, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

Increasing crimes in any country took citizens into dread. This becomes a problem for society because they can not live peacefully. Some people have a belief that in order to reduce crime, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while others think there are other alternative ways to solve this problem. This essay will discuss both sides Firstly, in order to reduce crime, the government can take some serious measures. It is undeniable that extending prisoner's sentences can bring benefits. For example, if sexual harassment crimes will be in jail for certain years, I am pretty sure that the citizens will have to keep their eyes open before they touch other people without permission. Individuals will think twice because these things are dangerous for them, if they don't want to go to jail. Furthermore, the authorities can make strict punishments for criminals. As a result, individuals will not take the wrong decision to go into a criminal. This can benefit people in any nation to stay live peacefully without being scared of criminals. However, there are other alternative ways to prevent increasing crime. There is a belief that detaining criminals will only waste the tax that we paid. However, the government have to come up with some alternatives such as put crimes through rehabilitation method and deciding to eliminate a massive number of criminals forever. This benefited both criminals and the government, so criminals can escape prison with conditional freedom and the government can spend less money. In conclusion, I believe that the authorities should propose more realistic punishment and strict punishment can reduce the number of crimes. Meanwhile, rehabilitation and elimination of hardened criminals can prevent the increasing number of crimes.