Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. However, it is longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Riding a bike is more beneficial for the environment than other types of transport, yet, going anywhere by bike takes a great deal of time. This essay will explore the possible factors and suggest some ideas to make this transport widely come into play among popularities. Off all the various components which lead to less use of bicycles, one is its weakness in mobility compared to other transporting ways. For instance, travelling much faster with buses, cars or metros is more convenient for trips within cities, and fast-speed trams and planes are more time-saving for long-distance journeys. In addition, as cycling requires physical activity to do, some people don't tend to use bikes to travel daily basis. a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a a In order to encourage cycling, providing cyclist-friendly facilities might be the first and foremost step to making people make a change. For example, adding cycling lines on main roads and cycling tracks in public parks is likely to handle cyclists' safety while they are going through fast-moving vehicles. Moreover, increasing public awareness as to how riding a bicycle has advantages could be the second proposition. For instance, governments should disseminate the programmes which are about the helpful impacts of cycling, leading to citizens deciding to adopt this type of travel. In conclusion, although immobility might contribute to the less use of bikes, supplying safety and encouragement of authorities can persuade people to adopt to bicycles.