A rise in the standard of living in a country often only seems to benefit cities rather than rural areas. What problems can this cause? How might these problems be reduced?

Improving living standards in a particular country is generally advantageous for urban citizens compared to the ones living in the countryside. This situation is likely to result in some serious problems unless prevented by a set of effective counter measures. To start, a disproportionate positive effect of growing living standards gives rise to two major issues, the most significant one of which is rural migration. This is because more and more rural dwellers choose to move to cities in search of better life quality as well as opportunities when quality of life in the countryside is inferior to that of cities. As a result, uncontrolled growth of urban population occurs, creating further problems for a country. Furthermore, contentment level among rural residents may decline as a result of not benefitting from a nationwide rise in life quality as much as their urban counterparts. This will eventually mean a fall in productivity levels, which is often followed by inefficiencies and possibly, financial losses in the food supply chain. Having established the severity of the situation, there are some practical solutions to consider. Channeling more financial investment into the countryside is often the first line of response. It works since this form of investment can be used to build plants and factories, hence creating more job opportunities for the common man. Having a secure job gives rural dwellers an incentive to stay in the country. Making countryside life appealing is another possible solution. This can be done by helping people there meet their basic needs for living such as food, warm housing, and healthcare. The government can take this idea a step further with the creation of leisure centers to foster a jovial spirit in the countryside. In conclusion, while the main issues stemming from an uneven rise in living standards are uncontrolled rural migration and less happy rural dwellers, solutions range from directing more funds to the countryside to making the countryside life attractive.