As mass communication and transport continue to grow, societies are becoming more and more alike leading to a phenomenon known as globalization. Some people fear that globalization will inevitably lead to the total loss of cultural identity. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement؟

The evolution of communication and transport throughout the years has impacted globalization, which some people fear will impact a cultural loss. I partly agree with this statement which I will discuss in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, the internet has been a major contributor to globalization. This is because nowadays it is easier to get in touch with anyone around the globe, which makes it possible for intercultural relationships. For instance, my parents are Brazilian and my wife's parents are Japanese, which resulted in an interracial couple, but we would have never met if it was not for the possibility of interacting with other countries that the internet promotes. Therefore, I think communication has facilitated relationships around the world. On the other hand, easier access to communication and transport systems folks from other countries can negatively influence our cultural roots. In the last decades, many people have travelled or emigrated to different places searching for better lives and jobs, therefore, cultural interactions have happened. This is the best reason to explain why countries are losing their cultural identities, and that uncontrollably in the future most countries are just going to be mixed communities. For example, countries such as Brazil have always had open doors to most of the south-American territory, this has led to race mixtures throughout history. Therefore, in the present moment, Brazil is considered a large multicultural country with not one specific culture. To conclude, communication and transport have largely impacted cultural identity. I partly agree with the statement, even though communications have easied multicultural interactions, this could lead to original culture loss.