In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All across the world, there are different rules and regulations for children. Somewhere, parents show very strict behaviour towards children. They want them to follow rules rather than do everything they desire. While in some areas of the world, offsprings have no restrictions. To my mind, there should be a balance. In countries like Pakistan and India, children have to follow strict rules. Parents give proper attention to the upbringing of their offspring. Now,in my opinion, it has pros and cons. If a child experience too much restriction, it might make him rigid. He might start hiding things from his parents to enjoy some time of pleasure. If he accidentally commits a crime, he would be afraid to confess. Insofar as a fear of being punished will prevails. In my experience, once in my childhood, an expensive vase was accidentally broken by me. It made me too much afraid. I felt frightened. I was feeling in danger of being scolded. In order to escape from this scenario, I cleaned all the broken pieces and told a lie to my mother. In my view, that one mistake of mine leads me to tell a lie which is worse. But I am also against giving complete freedom to children. As I have recently visited abroad, I observed that children are out of control. Some even do not have basic ethics. Once I have seen a teenager of about 18 years. He was drinking alcohol and went out of control. He was not in his senses. An old woman was passing by his side. He started scolding her and that was very bad behaviour. Such type of behaviour must be discouraged. In conclusion, parents should neither be too restrictive nor too lenient. However, balance is important. There should be flexibility in rules. Children must follow rules.But in case, if they fail to follow any rules, parents should understand this. Because "It is useless to cry over spilt milk".