When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programs) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

Some people argue that international media often generates negative effects towards cultural diversity. In this essay, I will explain why I somehow agree with this statement. Focusing first on the positive side, movies and dramas can share the international inclusive culture. Nowadays, various type of drama series can be seen in any country, streaming by Netflix or other servises. The romance story is one of the popular category in the past and now, but recently, more charactors describe as LGBTQ people. This trend definitely empower LGBTQ young generations. However, some international fashion brands made a bad impact to overseas young generations. One good illustration is that the famous fashion show conducted in the United States for decades, called Victoria's Secret fashion events. The Victoria's Secret is one of the mega underwear brand, demanding by a lot of teenagers all over the world. The reason why this brand became a top of the industry was because of its fashion show. The company choose top models from all over the world for their show, however, after 2018, a huge argument was provoked. The show coodinator coordinators tend to choose white-thin-unhealthy girls as their show models. Because of this, Black, Asian and plus-sized teenagers received the message from the brand that they were not the target of this brand. In the end, since 2020, this fashion show never took place. In conclusion, I believe some international dramas can make a positive impact, using various charactors who have inclusive background and preferences. However, there is a risk of making the international brand has discriminating culture if the brand does not care about the diversity.