Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give you own opinion.

In today’s society, knowing different foreign languages have a significant role in terms of being a social worldwide person. However, it is argued that learning a foreign language is just required for people ’s jobs and their travelling activities and there are some others who do not agree that the only reason is these actions. In my opinion, the majority of the population prefers to learn another language for the purpose of work and destinations. First of all, in general, many people have one ultimate goal which is earning money, after education and taking courses according to domains. In addition, it is believed that getting a job in a global company serves more facilities and side benefits. For example, working while travelling or participating in different conferences in many countries around the world. Therefore, if people aim to gain more money and spend their time on social activities such as visiting different traditions and cultures, knowing at least one foreign language will be the best solution. On the other hand, foreign languages are taught in schools in order to improve youngsters so that they can interact with other people from another country and become a social people. Apart from that, some others, for instance, married to a foreigner and will live in a different country, have to learn the language. Thereby, socializing, building relations with foreigners and some requirements could be the reasons for learning a language. To conclude, there are several possibilities to give as a reason to know other languages besides job offers or visiting. From my point of view, it can be categorized by just two reasons.