In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantage and disadvatges of this situation and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, people in different parts of the world live longer lives than in the past. This can result in a lot of benefits but it can have some drawbacks too. In this essay I will discuss both. Overall I think this a positive development that will be of great benefit to people from all over the world. When people live longer they have the chance to do more. They have experience and knowledge we can learn from the older generation. if they live longer, they will have more time to teach the younger generation about many values they are missing. On top of that, in the,past we lost a lot of knowledge because people die early. We lost many experts in fields like physics and math at a younger age and maybe if they live longer they could have changed the world. Many people consider the rise in life expectancy always a good thing. However, there are a few drawbacks that we have to address. When people age they mostly get sick so they require a lot of medical help and that could cost the government or their families a lot of money. Furthermore, people who are healthy and age well may take longer time to leave jobs and positions for the younger generation and this could mean that nations could slow advancing and developing, if for example every important job in the country is occupied by the older generation and they may lack new ideas and the motivation to improve and adapt this could result in lack of development in either the government or the private sector. For this and many other,reasons the rise in life expectancy is not always a good thing when looking at it from a broad perspective. In summary, I believe people living for many years is a good thing but nations have to adapt and put some laws in place to avoid many drawbacks of this new development in this day and age.