In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, many buyers prefer to shop in giant shopping malls due to there are multiple services have been provided. Consequently, some small grocery shops gradually have disappeared from our life. What influence this phenomenon will bring us, is that positive or negative? To commence with, there are many benefits to this development for customers. The most significant benefit is that they can satisfy various needs in these one-step shopping centers. For instance, you can arrange an English Class for your child in a shopping mall, and at the same time, you can buy some clothes or procure daily necessities. Moreover, the shopping mall has become a preferable appointment site, for the youth, they always call some friends to go to a shopping mall for a drink, dinner, or just stroll around. However, this trend has a negative impact on small shops and the local economy. One major issue is that most shopping malls are developed by large corporations and whether the commodities price or the shopping environment, the local small shops are not able to compete with a big shopping mall. As a consequence, they have to reduce the number of staffs, and even have to close down their business. Another crucial problem is that the shopping mall couldn't create enough jobs, the local unemployment rate will increase, which will cause more social problems. In conclusion, while shopping in a big mall is advantageous for customers as it saves them time, it has a drastic impact on small businesses, and the country’s economy.