Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, shopping has become a craze for almost everyone whether it is at an individual or societal level. One of the main reasons is that today the population is earning higher salaries for both men and women. Hence, they are able to spend extra money on luxurious products like furniture, clothing, beauty products, electronic gadgets and amongst others. Moreover, advertising plays a vital role in making individuals aware of new or updated items that are entering the market. Since people are earning more nowadays, there are more possibilities that they would buy these products. For example, each time Apple, Samsung or Huawei launches new smartphones, most men, women and youngsters would flock to the mobile showrooms to buy the latest smartphones. Hence, with this surge in its popularity, shopping can have a negative impact on individuals and society especially youngsters. In this day and age, parents are getting higher pay packets, thus, they can afford to give their children more pocket money. As a result, these children would tend to spend their money recklessly on shopping buying items just to show off or being in fashion to impress friends. However, since shopping is regarded as a leisure activity due to its increase in popularity, this has given to new and innovative products being launched on the market and the folk has an array of choices of products, for example, each year Apple, Samsung, Huawei and others brings out new and up to date electronic gadgets because of competition on the marketplace. In conclusion, shopping can have a bad influence on both individuals and society. Nevertheless, shopping has also its advantages. Therefore, one should outweigh the benefits and drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether to regard shopping as a leisure activity or a necessity.