Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views.

In these modern times, school education has become very diverse and people have now started to advocate the importance of international news as a part of the curriculum. I agree with this point and actually believe that this can make our upcoming generation more informed on current affairs. In this essay, I intend to discuss the pros and cons associated with adding this subject to the course outline for secondary school students. The proponents of the former opinion suggest that the adoption of international education as a subject for secondary school students can be very helpful, as It can provide the students with insights into the economical, social and political aspects of the different countries of the world. This will help our young generation to make better decisions in life. Such as, choosing their political representatives in the future and forming their opinions on the current affairs around them. The people of the latter opine believe that the sociopolitical landscape of the world is constantly changing and rapidly evolving. Therefore, the international news we teach today will become a history lesson in the future. They also believe that the world is facing very difficult times right now and teaching these hardships in the classrooms will only traumatise our young generation and will not cause any good. In conclusion, I believe that the road to a better-informed youth starts in the classroom. The ideas that inspire and educate our young ones today will equip them in making better decisions in the future. Hence, the significance of introducing international news as a subject is extremely high.