in many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or a negative trend?

These days, individuals who live in cities prefer to live alone or build a small family. In my opinion, this trend is more negative than positive as such individuals have to deal with some difficulties in their lives. Despite the fact that living alone leads individuals to acquire autonomy, self-discovery, and personal growth, it might have some drawback which everyone cannot cope them. One of the main disadvantages is that there is no one to share duties with such as cleaning, taking out the trash, paying bills, and doing shopping. Thus, they should allocate more time and energy to do household chores. Another downside of this trend is that in the long term, people might end up with depression as there is no potential roommate to cheers them up when get through the hard time. Therefore, the lack of company makes them feel isolated or lonely. Also, these individuals would face the hassle of high cost of living as there is no one to share expenditure with. For instance, my sister is living in a small apartment and she does not have a roommate so she had to spend a great deal of money for the decoration, furniture, and appliances which could become easier to purchase if she lives with someone else. Nowadays, women and men prefer to have a small family with a child. this decision not only can affect negatively parents but also children. To begin with, there is no siblings to play with Someone who is the only offspring in a family. Due to this they might sometimes feel loneliness and blame their parents for it. Secondly, Parents try to provide everything from cheapest toys to the most expensive one for their alone children to fill the lack of siblings. This action not only may cause them to bring up spoilt but also increase their expectations from fathers and mothers. Thus, these problems often increase a need of pricy consultation. In conclusion, I believe that having a small family and living solitary are challenging, and you have to work hard to earn more money to be able to meet high expenses.