Eating a balanced diet is the most important factor for a healthy life. To what extent do you agree?

Many people argue that the key to a healthy lifestyle is to consume equal portions of food every day. This essay completely agrees with this view, as the human body requires a variety of nutrients, which are delivered from the diet. However, the complete exclusion of a specific type of food source may lead to an alteration of normal physiology, therefore, a balance in eating is obligatory. Firstly, it is a well-known fact that every piece of food consists of 3 main macronutrients-carbohydrates, fats, and proteins, in addition, all of these supplements are essential sources of energy for the organism. This is to say that, in order that the “system” operates properly, every single day we should provide those resources. Moreover, each macronutrient undergoes further degradation to a micronutrient, which is of crucial importance for the process of absorption (when minerals, vitamins and electrolytes are transferred into the bloodstream from the food). For example, some of the amino acids which are forming the skeleton of each cellular membrane could be delivered only with food, however, in order that them to be extracted accurately, everything should be balanced. Secondly, if we totally remove some specific type of food from our diets, it can harm our well-being by causing different diseases. In fact, most of the current cardiovascular disorders are one result of a non-balanced diet. By doing so, we force our body to function in an abnormal way, as it is trying to derive all of the nutrients needed. For instance, our brain cells need carbohydrates in order that they function normally, conversely, if we decide to exclude completely those carbohydrates from our regime, this will make our body start producing the so-called ‘ketone bodies’- products which are produced from the liver so they can replace the missing nutrients. Moreover, the exquisite production of these ketone products may lead to a life-threatening condition called’ ketoacidosis’. In conclusion, there is a strong bond between a healthy life and a balanced diet, therefore, in my opinion, we should all try to follow the advice given by diabetologists so we can achieve more proportional habits in our nutrition.