The number of children that read for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more?

Technological advancement has acquired the life of children and it leads to a decrease the reading time. In this essay, I'm going to evaluate the reasons for the dropped in reading among children in recent years while identifying the solutions to encourage more reading. Smartphones, tablets and laptops have acquired the space of physical books and in the contemporary world, those are the toys of children. Although, access to this equipment eases the education process, children are now more addicted to digital games, tv-series and movies is the main cause of this threat. Usage of this electronic media, keeps all away from the habit of fun reading. Reading improves imagination, creativity, writing ability as well as speaking capacity. Albeit there are so many platforms to gain knowledge through reading, social media and games dragging small lives from those. However, there are a few ways to encourage children for more reading. Motivation through small perks, organising competitions, enhance the accessibility to interesting reading materials such as novels and picture books. When encouraging children, educating them on the benefits of reading while, allocating a specific time and arranging a reading area to attract small ones to read more can be highlighted as the parent's responsibility. In conclusion, even though technological advancement and the digital world acquire the modern world and drag valuable time from the children, motivation, facilitation and education for more fun reading will enhance the interest in reading. Children are the future. Therefore, everyone has a responsibility to drag them to the right path.