It is better for the students to live away from the home during their university studies rather than staying with their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some people think that students ought to live alone during their tertiary education, it is believed by others that it is better for them to remain living at home. In my opinion, students benefit from living alone in certain ways like they become independent and learning how to manage their expenses. First and foremost, one of the main reasons why it is beneficial for pupils to live away from their home is that they become totally self-dependent on their parents and able to think for themselves. To elaborate, the educational institution is a time for students to spread their wings and try new ideas or ways of thinking and learn to cope with life-changing decisions. For example, by living alone, without the interference of their parents, they develop rounder, decisive characters and are able to function well in the world. Therefore, it is quite advantageous to live away from family while studying at university. Another merit of learners fleeing the parental nest is that they learn to manage money. Put simply, most students see the academy as a stepping stone to adulthood and so by learning to live on a budget, they develop the skills needed once they are earning a salary and balancing their finances. For example, living in a rented property also comes with responsibilities for learners such as paying rent on time and many more, and this further helps in their upcoming lives for them. Hence, residing away from home comes with so many responsibilities which makes a student a better person. In conclusion, although it might not be feasible for all students, living away from their parents helps university mentees develop strength of character and useful life skills such as managing expenses needed for when they enter working lives.