Some people think that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefits of human beings, while other people argue that it is wrong. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's medical world, there has been a controversy about how medical research is conducted and tested. Although many people support the use of animal experiments for developing medicine, I personally believe that animal testing is morally wrong. There are various reasons why it might be considered beneficial to allow people to use medical experiments to conduct medical research. In fact, testing by using animals has contributed a lot to many life-saving cures and treatments. For example, dogs play a large role in the development of cancer treatments for humans, but also for the estimated 6 million dogs that will be diagnosed with cancer each year in the United States. With the help of dogs, pioneering treatments are being developed, such as immunotherapy and bacteria injections to fight cancer. Thus, this makes it clear why using animals in medical research is beneficial to people. In spite of these arguments, I agree with those who argue that using animals in medical research is a mistake. It is true that the lives of all creatures should be respected and we, humans, have no right to suffer animals for our own benefit. For instance, some scientists now use computers and mathematical models instead of animals while doing medical research. Additionally, there are also many alternative methods of research. Because of this, it is easy to see why using animals in medicine is inappropriate. To recapitulate, although it is undoubtedly that animal testing has helped people in drug developments and medical discoveries, I am of the opinion that people ought to find other methods so as not to force animals to suffer.