Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environment problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and vehicles (agree/disagree).

As environmental issues have plagued our society for years, people have proposed several solutions to help mitigate them. One suggested way is concerned with raising the fuel costs for various vehicles. However, I tend to disagree with this proposal. Some may argue that with the increment in gasoline, the number of automobiles would be effectively limited, and thus air problems in cities could be addressed. When car owners feel reluctant to drive in the face of high driving expenditures, they are encouraged to choose greener way of travelling, such as walking or bicycling. In this way, exhaust fumes released from engine combustion are very likely to decline, resulting in cleaner atmosphere for urban areas. Nevertheless, this perspective fails to take into account this: price is not the only reason for citizens to select certain traffic mode. For those who live in suburbs and work in downtown, for example, they have to drive to commute, and therefore, may still cling to the original travelling method, despite the increase in fuel expenses. To lift the petrol expenditure to curb environmental issues can have devastating repercussions. First, private drivers have heavier financial burdens, which could bring more pressure on their work and family life. Moreover, the rise in fuels can also harm other productive activities. Take agriculture as an example: if farmers have to spend more on operating agricultural vehilcles (for instance, ploughs, tractors), they will face a higher production costs and a diminish in profits, and in a long run, this could mean price swings in the crop market. To conclude, making it more expensive to drive seems to be a cure for air pollution, but this is not effective enough and can bring undesirable consequences. The government needs to devise meticulous plans for addressing green issues.