Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Recently, some companies tend to seek private information about their potential employees by asking about, what they do during their leisure, their relationship status and what they enjoy doing the most. However, while people are in favour of it, others kicked against it. I believe that the essence of these questions could help in knowing more about their candidates and put the right decision for the company putting aside the effect of racism or gender choice of job. On the one hand, the idea of knowing the personal details about workers a manager seems beneficial for the company’s decision-making. This could create a palatable and conducive environment for the worker and in case, where there is no sufficient provision for some basic facilities, then it could be set up. For instance, my friend and his lovely wife applied for a position and the organization got interested in their resume. Meanwhile, there was only one vacant space and the team seems to be in a tie to reject either of them. More so, their co-operative and teamwork as seen in both resumes, triggered the boss to ask stylishly if these two candidates knew each other and then my pal confirmed that they are a couple. In less than an hour, both my pal and wife were recruited. To this, I found that the organization could not lose them as they can add great productivity in the same workplace irrespective of their marital status. On the other hand, it is believed that racism can cause misconceptions about why some questions can be irrelevant. Therefore, this permits the company to only recruit people of their race. Also, some types of jobs employ those who are single because they don’t want permission or unnecessary maternity leave. The manager feels that single-capable hands are more capable and more effective than married ones. For example, an experienced accountant friend of mine was not able to seek a profession in All Nations Firm because they got to find out that she is married with 6 months of kids. This firm looked less at her experience because of the breastfeeding baby she still has so they believe her not to be competent for the profession. To conclude, some employers could consider some vital information from their potential subordinates while these questions could cause negative repercussions; it could also be an opportunity for the company to make a swift and right decision based on competency.