Some people believe that exams are an inappropriate way of measuring student’s performance and should be replaced by continuous assessments. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people think that exams are not the only way to assess students ’ performance and it would be more effective if there are any continuous assessments. I completely agree with this statement because sometimes a student has their own capability and is primarily talented in one subject. So, giving only an exam assessment is not enough to evaluate another potential. First of all, students are likely to be keen on more positive activities such as sports or arts recently. In this way, teachers could act as a facilitator in order to support students. Moreover, students ’ potential could be increased by giving them many options to know their talent and focus on one subject or activity. In Finland, for example, all schools in Finland only have classes for short time and this particular gives students more time to gain and explore knowledge by themselves. In addition, there are many cases in which students feel depressed about the exam, thus it could affect their mental health. Furthermore, a mental health issue is substantially increasing especially for students. For instance, Korea has a tight education method as well as parents’ expectations of their children. This is clearly evident in why the suicide number in Korea is gradual growth until these days. In conclusion, although certain subjects may be assessed in the traditional manner, it would be balanced to assess a student’s ability based on work they have completed over the whole period of study rather than a single written exam. Besides that, government and parents should cooperate to support students not only in exams but also behaviour.