Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In the modern world, illiteracy is a major problem that could impact society, employment levels, health, and the country's economic growth. The essay will discuss the causes of the lack of education and the major three effects of illiteracy. Possibly the main cause is children from low-income background were the hardest to attend online classes and owning digital devices during the COVID-19 quarantation. For instance, 10-year-olds unable to read or understand a simple text and express themselves, up from 67% pre-pandemic, which might lead to slow development of society. Non-sufficient education is also caused by increased poverty levels. Poverty can result in many people lacking fees to pay for children’s education, private classes or even lack money to buy educational tools. The effects of this issue on children would be severe. Firstly, people who are low literate often correlated with health problems. These people may not learn how to prevent infectious and non-communicable diseases. A further widely-observed impact is adults who struggle with literacy are more likely to be poor, lack education, and miss out on opportunities to participate fully in society. For example, The Economic Institute found that only 20% of children living in poverty are ready for school at age five, compared to 75% of kids with high incomes. Lastly, a person who is unable to read may have low self-esteem or feel negative emotions which lead to depression and other mental health disorders. To sum up, increased poverty levels and online classes during the COVID-19 pandemic appear to be the main causes and they affect both the economic and social life of illiteracy people.