Some people think that the only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that the only way to enhance road safety is to increase punishments for drivers. I disagree with this view because many drivers may still violate the driving rules when they receive a chance even though the penalty is high and educating their mindset could be another possible way to solve this issue. It is true to say that a large number of drivers break safety rules whenever they obtain a chance. Although governments and authorities are used to control the most sophisticated equipment, many of them are not interested to follow those laws because in their opinion some rules are not relevant and impractical. Moreover, some traffic police are also intended to charge a high amount of money to drivers rather than educating them. In Thailand, for example, larger numbers of drivers are paying money to traffic police instead of obeying the laws and that could lead to the corruption problem as well. Unless governments are taking serious action, public road safety could not expect to get better. Undoubtedly, educating is more effective than punishing if we want to improve road safety.Obviously, changing the public mindset is not an easy task because governments and authorities might need to invest a large amount of time and money as well. Even though the investment is huge, we could receive better outcomes like fewer road accidents. In the UK, for instance, a wide range of educating roads safety awareness and guidelines can reduce a significant amount of accidents in some major cities. To conclude,even though some people say that more punishments for careless drivers can improve road safety, a lack of proper education can still remain this problem in the future. Unless we educate the public, we would not resolve the problem.