Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Internationally, non-literate population continues to be a trouble, and two consequences of this problem seems to drives from two main causes. First main cause is an illiterate parents tends to transmit their situation to their children, since they do not put much importance on education. Especially, in rural areas which do not have a proper education, most likely to neglect the importance of learning; probably, their beliefs may continue with their child. Another issue is families with low income tends to make a forced decision to leave out education of their child. Basic necessities like food and clothes might put in first place over education if the country is unable to offer free education. These two effects leads to a greater problems. First, may be the most recognizable effect would be unemployment or under payment because a person who is unable to read cannot pursue higher education, and often find themselves difficult position when faced with an educational driven world. Hence, employed or not, many companies would offer a job with little pay and more physical duties. Finally, with combinations of those problems, the illiteracy leads the nation to poverty. Development of the country usually depends on well-educated population rather than number of population. On a world-wide scale, an African continent is in second place by population. However, African countries tops for illiteracy rate, and also suffers from high poverty rates. In a brief, parents and family conditions may be the main causes, and they both hinder the individual and nation’s welfare.