Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both point of view and give your opinion.

Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime, in this essay, I'll be discussing both views and will save my opinion to the end. For those who sees the prison as the solution to reduce the crime rates, I believe they is are just looking for the easy solutions, which is probably are not effective and cost a lot. one one hand, putting convicts behind the bars for a longer times means a higher cost to accommodate them. on the other hand, having the the prisoners locked for years would affect their mental stability and makes it harder for them to harmonize with the society after their release and raises the stakes for them to break the law again, and returning to the correctional system. On the other side of the debate, the people whom opposes the extended prisonment has a good point, first they understands the main role for the correctional system, which is to correct the behaviour of the convicted. correction doesn't necessary means spending years in maximum security facility, but understanding the human needs and looking to the bright side inside the prisoner, and help him get over the circumstances that led him to follow this pass, and give him the hope of a better tomorrow. From my perpective, I apply a technique named "Root Cause Analysis", this method is based on finding out the roots of the problem and eradicate it forever, instead of chasing the symptoms. Thus, in order to reduce the rates of the crimes, we need to remove the reasons pushing the innocent people to violate the laws, if it is the poverty, we shall fight the poverty and provide provide the means of decent living to all population.