The position of women in society has changed markedly in the last twenty years. Many of the problems young people now experience, such as juvenile delinquency, arise from the fact that many married women now work and are not at home to care for their children. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

When it comes to juvenile delinquency, some advocates regard it as something only related to women's liability while others treat the issue as a co-obligation of both. Personally, I am in favour of the latter and the reasons will be thoroughly elaborated on as follows. On the one hand, the traditional stereotype still exists in our society that the father should be the breadwinner of the family whereas the mother must stay at home as well as look after domestic affairs. For instance, housewives have to take responsibility for teaching kids, cooking and tidying up the residence. Secondly, numerous proponents also consider that these housekeepers must undertake the task since they possess more time to get along with youths and it is fair that everyone performs their duties respectively in the household. In other words,taking care of housework and educating correct moral values to youngsters are the primary obligations for females in the family. On the other hand, a majority of people think that both genders should pay attention to parenting. First of all, youngsters are prone to go astray or join gangs if they lack sufficient closeness and are less involved in family activities in the long term; therefore, parents should make a concerted effort to instruct children to distinguish right from wrong. In addition, parents must give adolescents much more emotional and mental support because they would particularly be affected by peer pressure. Most importantly, the young should not be spoilt by their parents and the adult must set codes of conduct to prevent inappropriate behavior. In conclusion, I firmly believe that fathers and mothers share their parenting as well as domestic responsibilities equally regardless of gender or family role.